Cursed is the Peacemaker

Back to Diplomats and Diplomacy

Cursed is the Peacemaker: The American Diplomat versus the Israeli General, Beirut 1982

“John Boykin has done an outstanding job of portraying a preeminent peace negotiator and profoundly complex man. Part pragmatist, part idealist, Phil Habib possessed a powerful personality—brilliant, profane, tenacious, and courageous—a dedicated career diplomat who served under seven presidents and was the one sent when the issues were the most intractable.”
 ––HENRY A. KISSINGER, Secretary of State (1973–1977)

John Boykin’s fast-paced life of the extraordinary diplomat Philip Habib zeroes in on Habib’s excruciatingly difficult, much lauded, but short-lived success in halting the Arab-Israeli war in Lebanon in 1982 and negotiating the evacuation of PLO leader Yasir Arafat and his PLO fighters. Twenty years later, Arafat and Ariel Sharon, who led the 1982 Israeli invasion of Lebanon, were once again front and center.

Boykin’s lively book is informal yet polished, a real page-turner about a colorful, unorthodox diplomat who was also a consummate professional. The book fills a gap in the understanding of a vital chapter in recent Middle East history. It is thoroughly researched and based almost entirely on primary sources: declassified government documents and interviews and oral histories of participants in the events described.

Select an Option

by John Boykin
Foreword by George P. Shultz
Belmont, Calif.: Applegate Press, May 2002
504 pp, 16 illustrations, appendices, sources and bibliography, notes, index
Cloth $29.95 (members' price $25)

"John Boykin has gone to great lengths to ensure the accuracy of the accounts in this resounding book. Philip Habib was an extraordinary man, and this volume brings his story to light in a manner that is uniquely objective and at the same time highly personal. Works of this nature—particularly about those who embody U.S. foreign policy—are very needed and should be highly valued both within the U.S. and abroad."
OSCAR ARIAS, former President of Costa RIca and 1987 Nobel Peace Prize winner