Your browser (Internet Explorer 7 or lower) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.


Recognizing Excellence

At its biennial gala, ADST recognizes those individuals who have made exceptional contributions in diplomacy.


The Ralph J. Bunche Award for Diplomatic Excellence

This award is given biennially to recognize the life-time achievement of a senior practitioner of the art of diplomacy. It was established in 1998 to honor the memory of Ralph Bunche, a great American diplomat who was Under Secretary of the United Nations and winner of the 1950 Nobel Peace Prize. It recognizes persons whose exceptional contributions to diplomacy and foreign policy exemplify the combination of outstanding leadership and achievement that is the Bunche legacy.

Past recipients of the Ralph Bunche Award include:

Former Deputy Secretary of State Strobe Talbott (2016);
Former Secretary of State and Treasury James A. Baker, III (2014);
Thomas R. Pickering (2012);
Senator Chuck Hagel (2010);
Representative Lee Hamilton (2008);
Former Secretary of State Colin L. Powell (2006);
Former Deputy Secretary of State John C. Whitehead (2004);
Former Secretary of State, Labor and the Treasury George P. Shultz (2002);
Senator Sam Nunn (2000);
Ambassador Donald F. McHenry (1999).

The Cyrus R. Vance Award for Advancing Knowledge of Diplomacy

The Cyrus R. Vance Award recognizes outstanding achievement in advancing the study of U.S. diplomacy. It is awarded biennially. The Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training (ADST) created the award in honor of former Secretary of State Vance in 2003 with the approval of his widow, Grace.

Past Recipients include:

Joseph Nye (2016);
Diana Lady Dougan (2014);
Robin Wright (2012);
Ted Koppel (2010);
James H. Billington (2008);
ADST book editor Margery Boichel Thompson (2006); and
ADST oral historian Charles Stuart Kennedy (2004).

The International Business Leadership Award

This award is given biennially for outstanding accomplishments in global business.

Past Recipients include:

One Laptop Per Child (accepted by Rodrigo Arboleda, 2016);
Peter Tichansky, Business Council for International Understanding (2014).
The Coca-Cola Company (accepted by Kate Irvin, 2012);
Ted Turner (2010);
Carla A. Hills (2008);
Frank C. Carlucci (2006);
J. Bruce Llewellyn (2004); and
James V. Kimsey (1999)

Excellence in Language Teaching Awards

Each year ADST administers an award program co-funded by the Una Chapman Cox Foundation and the Department of State–the Excellence in Language Teaching Awards — through which four awards are given annually to foreign language instructors at the Foreign Service Institute. Here is a list of the past Winners, who receive $7,500 each, as well as the Honorable Mentions, who each receive $2,000.